Friday, 8 January 2016

Wedderburn Bridge


Wedderburn Bridge (photo: Dennis Townend)

A bridge over the Georges River at Wedderburn Gorge was first built in 1892. It replaced a nearby ford. The bridge was wooden and was built by Jim and George Kershler. The Kershlers had also built the bridge at Frere’s Crossing further downstream. The bridge had been built for horse drawn traffic only which therefore made it unsuitable for much of its long life.

In 1935 there was a deputation to the Council regarding the unsafe bridge carrying a seven ton limit weight capacity. This was of great importance to the Fruit Growers Association. The majority of landowners at Wedderburn grew fruit on their orchards. With the weight restriction it meant having to bring the fruit to the bridge and unload it onto bigger trucks for the remainder of the journey to the Sydney markets. The result was more expense and time and a need to repair the inadequate bridge. Council approved and ironbark timber was used in its repair.

Over the years there were many complaints made to council for repairs to the road and to the bridge. In 1978 council banned all vehicles, except cars, from using the bridge. Tests revealed the bridge supports were only 50 percent solid. A temporary bypass road was hurriedly constructed by council. So began the struggle of Wedderburn residents to have a new bridge built.

Wedderburn Bridge at the Georges River, taken from bypass road, 1985

In August 1986 the area experienced major flooding resulting in major damage to the old wooden bridge. Residents were left without access to Campbelltown. Of course this caused great concern, not just for commercial reasons as most of the landholders were still fruit growers, but for possible emergencies that might have arisen. A temporary Bailey Bridge was hastily placed across the old wooden one by the army. The bridge was removed later in the year and a temporary concrete causeway was constructed. The causeway however is regularly submerged leaving the Wedderburn community isolated for days.

A decision now had to be made about building a new bridge or using a culvert. The debate was still being argued 20 years later with articles in the local media focusing on the issue. As late as 2014 the issue of a new bridge at Wedderburn again drew media attention. The wait continues.


Written by Andrew Allen

Update: A new bridge was opened in 2019


Sources:
HOLMES, Marie
“Wedderburn”
In Grist Mills, Vol.10, No.2, April 1997
The Macarthur Advertiser, August 13, 1986 p1,6 and August 20, 1986 p1
The Macarthur Advertiser, June 14, 2006 p24
 

Monday, 4 January 2016

Happy New Year!

We would like to take this opportunity to wish all our readers a very Happy New Year for 2016, and we hope we can share some more wonderful stories with you over the coming year!

From your History Buffs!

Wednesday, 23 December 2015

Christmas Comforts


Norman Gamble was born into a household where tales of duty and Empire were common. His father, Tom Gamble, the mayor of Campbelltown for two years in the l890’s, had arranged recruitment rallies for the Boer War and gave rousing patriotic speeches. Thus it came as no surprise that with the outbreak of World War I, Tom’s sons would enlist. Roy was rejected on medical grounds, but his brothers Norman and Leo enlisted in 1915 and 1916 respectively.
Norman served in Gallipoli and France. At Christmas time, any reminder of home would have been a comfort to the soldiers. Helping to send Christmas cheer was the Campbelltown Comforts Fund Committee, part of the Australian Comforts Fund.  Mainly run by women, they provided and distributed free comforts to the Australian fighting men in all the battle zones. Norman wrote in a letter to his mother “I received a beautiful parcel from the Campbelltown Christmas Gift Committee, which contained everything a soldier could wish for.”
Among the items were tobacco, soap, plum pudding, sardines, camp pie, pencils, cocoa and socks. 

Campbelltown Comforts Fund Committee on the side verandah of Campbelltown's first post office packing parcels for Australian troops overseas during World War I (Reproduction rights W.Wilkinson)


Written by Claire Lynch
Sources:
Trove
National Archives of Australia website
NSW Registry of Births Deaths and Marriages
First Citizen by Jeff McGill

Wednesday, 16 December 2015

Dodging a Bullet

There had been nothing unusual about this particular Saturday afternoon in the late summer of 1952. Gatekeeper James Ashford was on duty at the Camden Road level crossing at Campbelltown where he performed his regular duties. Golfers enjoyed a leisurely round of golf at the adjacent course and the rest of the town were making the most of the perfect weather. Then all hell broke loose...

Crouched on a hill about 300 yards away was a 15 year old boy who started firing shots at James Ashford. The bullets struck the gatekeeper's shelter box, where he was summoning police. One of the bullets narrowly missed his head. He later took shelter behind a gatepost, and two more bullets ploughed into the post.

Bullets also whined over golfers on the golf course. One player dived into the creek for safety and another into a pond. Several shots also flew over a passing car. Local police then blocked Camden Road.

Two men then found the boy under a nearby bridge. Drawing their pistols, the policeman rushed the bridge and captured the boy. They took possession of a pea-rifle. He was charged with assault, discharging a firearm near a public street, and being a person under the age of 16 found in possession of a firearm.

Local newspaper photographer Norm Campbell remembered the day. "This was great news for the papers, it was Saturday morning and Sunday was a big day for news. The place was riddled with reporters and staff."

It turned out that the boy was from the Sydney suburb of Enfield. He was ordered by the court to attend the Police Boy's Club at Burwood two nights a week. The court was told by the police that when captured the boy's breath smelt of intoxicating liquor and he was unsteady on his feet. He also received a bond which prohibited picture shows, intoxicating drink and the handling of firearms for two years. The boy told the court that he was "very sorry" for what he had done.


This is a photograph taken in the early 1950s. It shows what the scene would've looked like at the time of the shooting. The photograph overlooks the golf course with the Great Southern Railway line and the Camden Road level crossing at the bottom left. (Campbelltown and Airds Historical Society)


Bridge over Bow Bowing Creek next to the level crossing. This was almost certainly the bridge where the 15 year old hid under and was caught. (Campbelltown and Airds Historical Society).


Written by Andrew Allen

Friday, 11 December 2015

The Clayton Sisters – Part 2



Further to the previous blog “The Clayton Sisters”, more information has come to light about this endearing pair.
Miss Margaret Jane Clayton was born in 1851 at Gunning, and her sister Miss Ultima Clayton in 1853, (also probably at Gunning), New South Wales. They were the youngest daughters of Dr Benjamin Clayton and Frances Broughton, and the grand-daughters of Commissary General William Broughton, First Fleeter and one time governor of Tasmania, who had a grant of a thousand acres at Appin.
Their father, Dr Benjamin Clayton, was for many years the only doctor between Yass and Goulburn. He had built a beautiful two storey home in Gunning, which he named “Baltinglass” after the town he came from in Ireland.  He established flocks and herds, experimented in grape growing and wine making, kept bees, and bred racehorses.  In 1853 he suddenly decided to leave Gunning, and it was sold for 5,500 pounds. He purchased a farm at Appin called “Rockwood” near William Broughton’s property. Sadly, Dr Clayton died in 1854. The girls and other members of the family went to live permanently at Appin. Frances was now a wealthy widow, and lived until the age of 79.
It is here the trail runs cold, but we pick the sisters’ story up again at the end of the World War I.
It is reported that they traveled the world for two years, and on their return, engaged a suite of private rooms at the Campbelltown Club Hotel. The Electoral Roll describes them as being of “independent means”.  The sisters were known for their kindness and generosity, giving charitable assistance to anyone that might need it. They quietly went about making contributions and giving monetary assistance to friends and relatives, assisting those in need. They actively sought out people needing help. They were true philanthropists. 
They lived at the hotel until Margaret died in 1932 in Milby Hospital. Ultima then moved to Minto to her brother Bland’s residence - “Weerona”. After Bland passed away in February of 1936, Ultima collapsed with grief, and passed away shortly after. Both sisters were laid to rest in St Peter’s Church. 



Written by Claire Lynch

Sources
Trove
Chronicles of Appin, NSW - Syd Percival 1992
William Broughton and the Kennedy Connection – Margaret Carty 1987